Home arrow About Us
Sunday, 21 April 2019
Main Menu
About Us
Speeches and Statements
Events Calender
Database Application Form
Where to find us
National Integrated ECD Policy
Children Services Directory
Ministerial Review of the White Paper
Nomination Form & NDA Board Advert
Application – PFA Finalisation
TORs toreduce Vulnerabilities to HIV and AIDS
Call for Proposal
SASSA-SAPO Review Interpretation and Analysis report
Nomination Form for Recruitment of Board Member: CDA 2017
ICT Strategy
Minister: Susan Shabangu
Deputy Minister: Hendrietta Bogopane-Zulu
Deputy Minister
iconDSD Customer Care Charter iconStudy Report on Children's access to Social Insurance Benefits
Minister Susan Shabangu Print E-mail
Monday, 11 May 2009

Profile of Minister Susan Shabangu

Date of Birth: 28 February 1956

Current Positions
Ms Susan Shabangu is the Minister in the Presidency responsible for Women with effect from 25 May 2014.

Previously she was the Minister of Mineral Resources of the Republic of South Africa since from 11 May 2009 till 24 May 2014.  She was appointed as Minister of Social Development on 26 February 2018.

She has been a member of the African National Congress (ANC) National Working Committee since December 2007 and a member of the National Executive Committee of the ANC.

Academic Qualifications

Ms Shabangu attended Madibane High School in Soweto in 1977.

Career/Positions/Memberships/Other Activities

Ms Shabangu has been involved in the anti-apartheid struggle serving in various capacities.

She was one of the women who led the revival of the Federation of South African (FEDSAW) during the time of high repression in the late 1978, leading up to the formation of the Federation of Transvaal Women (FEDTRAW), Natal Women’s Organisation (NOW), Port Elizabeth Women’s Organisation (PEWO) and UWCO. She became the assistant secretary of the Federation of Transvaal Women. In 1981 she was an active member of the Anti-Republic Campaign Committee and she was involved in the formation of the Release Mandela Campaign Committee (RMC) in 1982.